Honda Prelude Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My friend is selling me a civic eg springs very cheap and just want to know, will it fit on my 89-91 prelude ex? Im just a student and dun have a lot of cash so cant aford to buy new springs and dun wan to cut my springs some say it can b dangerous, I forgot the name of the spring but the web site say it the top manufacture of spring in europe, the name starts with 'J......'

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
How low can your coil over get? I dont have the $ for trail and error, selling the springs is the hard part no one wants to buy them

·
Registered
3,226 Posts
Are they stock springs? If so, then they'll be soft and short... Might as well cut your stock prelude springs.

·
Registered
110 Posts
the stock civic springs will lower the car about 1 1/2 inches if they are lowering spings add that into it and you'll get how low the car will sit. personal i like doing this cuz you dont get the stiff ass ride of prelude lowing springs

·
Registered
288 Posts
prelude11 said:
the stock civic springs will lower the car about 1 1/2 inches if they are lowering spings add that into it and you'll get how low the car will sit. personal i like doing this cuz you dont get the stiff ass ride of prelude lowing springs
I was just about to enter that. Being that our preludes are a few hundred pounds heavier. For a stiff ride, our spring rate needs to be higher. Installing Civic EG or even EK springs on our cars would give it a phenominal drop but the spring rate wouldnt be stiff enough to compensate. This would kill your shocks almost immediately because you would be constantly surpassing your bump stop. And you would be bottoming out on bad roads and sudden changes in elevation.

My advice is to do a little more research on the springs. Try to find out their spring rate and how much lower from factory ride height they are. You wouldnt want a punctured oil pan!

·