Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey eveyone, I'm new to the whole Honda and Prelude scene. I bought a 1990 Prelude Si 4WS, 5SP with a B21A1. I've been searching for a while and haven't been able to find anything about my problem. It has a check engine light on it and i got a list of trouble codes. I thought it was flashing a 5 which is mechanical problem with the MAP. I replaced the MAP, removed clock fuse for a few minutes, fired it up and the light came back on again. I'm guessing that wasn't it. I got back down and looked at my code again and now i'm second guessing myself. Here's my question: do you count the last "short" flash as part of the code number? It is flashing 4 slow flashes and then a 5th fast flash. Is this a code 4 or 5? if it is a 4 then apparently it is the Crank sensor, but I don't want to go replacing anymore parts until i know what code I'm actually reading. I'm not really used to this set up and any help would be greatly appreciated!! I did just find a thread where someone said that a long flash is counts of 10 and short flashes are counts of 1, so does that make my code a 41? the trouble code chart I have goes from 0 to 17. Please Help!!
Pipman

·
Registered
219 Posts
code 41 is Primary Oxygen Sensor - Heater circuit malfunction - o2 sensor/bad wiring

here is a list :

Engine Control Module
HO2S Or O2S
HO2S Or O2S{2}
VSS{1}
MAP Sensor
CKP Sensor{2}
Vacuum Switch{1}
MAP Sensor
ECT Sensor
TP Sensor{2}
M/T Clutch Switch Signal{1}
A/T Shift Position Signal{1}
TDC{2}
Ignition Coil Signal{1}
No. 1 Cylinder Position Sensor
IAT Sensor
EGR System
BARO Sensor
IAC Valve{2}
EACV{1}
Ignition Output Signal
Fuel Injector System
VSS
Lock-Up Solenoid Valve
Electric Load Detector
VTEC Solenoid Valve
VTEC Pressure Switch
KS
A/T FI Signal A
A/T FI Signal B
HO2S Heater
Fuel Supply System
HO2S{3}

·
Banned
13,157 Posts
yup, code 41. o2 heater circuit malfunction.
usually means the o2 sensor is shot.