Honda Prelude Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys long time viewer..first time poster :)

I am a poor college student and I have now saved enough money to get myself a 5th gen Lude..mind you without my parents $$$$$

As far as suspension goes. I was thinking of getting a full coilover setup but that is going to cost me around $800+

I could always go for the coilover sleeves with stock shocks. but I heard that was not recommended. This would run me around 200-300$

I want to know what setups you guys currently have how much it costs. I want to know If I should get a FULL coilover or just buy the sleeves or maybe get some springs and shocks by themselves.

·
Premium Member
1,713 Posts
My shock/spring setup costed me around $400 total. I'm using Tokico blues shocks with Eibach pro-kit springs.

·
Registered
848 Posts
DO NOT!!!!! skimp on suspension with a car like a prelude imho. It is a handling car, dont take that away from it or compromise it. It would be like me skimping on the power aspect of my 5.0

·
Registered
792 Posts
So what's better? Stock suspension or cheap aftermarket for both driveability and performance.

·
RHD Pimpin
10,152 Posts
I'm running Ground Control coilovers with KYB AGX's...

·
Registered
59 Posts
bmanuhutu said:

I could always go for the coilover sleeves with stock shocks. but I heard that was not recommended. This would run me around 200-300$

Don’t do it... I lowerd my car with this type of setup when I first purchased my car (back in 98)... I used Skunk2 Coilovers with stock shocks. In summary, I ended up destroying my shocks and the car handled like shit. Just do it right the first time. Either get a full coilover setup or if you are short on $$$, lower it a good aftermarket shock & spring combo.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
ludespeed501 said:
My shock/spring setup costed me around $400 total. I'm using Tokico blues shocks with Eibach pro-kit springs.