Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm new to this site and wanted to ask a question about these cars as I have little to no experience with preludes. First off I am a 22 year old automotive detailer living in Northern Virginia. I currently own a 2003 Subaru Outback and a 1999 Honda Accord. I am looking at possibly picking up a project car and trying to figure out if its worth the trouble or not.

My brother is selling his 1996 Prelude as it has some problems both cosmetic and mechanical and has since purchased a different vehicle. I figure I could get it for about $400 and here are the details.

Mechanically it is in rough shape. It has about 130k miles but the clutch is going out and the engine definitely needs a tune up. It also has a slight electrical problem with the headlights where they don't always work correctly. The car has new tires, struts, and brakes and has the basic mods.

It is also rough cosmetically. It has a very large dent in the back driver side quarter panel with a crazy amount of scratches. Also has a nice sized dent in the driver fender; again, lots of scratches as well. the rest of the body is what youd expect for a 20 year old car.

Anyway, on to the main question... Should I take this car off his hands and try to fix it up? Or do you guys think its a lost cause? I would be doing all the mechanical work and as far as body work I'd probably just try to prevent and protect from rust. Thanks and hope to hear from some of you guys!

·
Registered
2,546 Posts
The QP dent means it's definitely totaled. Otherwise, do a compression check on the engine. If it does well there, I would consider picking it up for like a race car-type purpose. For any other reason, just stick with your Accord.

Or maybe buy it to part it out.

·
Registered
3,668 Posts