Honda Prelude Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm kinda new to the ways of Preludes, and although I've been reading as much as I can on these boards the past few days, I figured I'd start posting to get some more specific info and advice.
I just purchased a slightly worn (former Mini-Stock Dirt track) 86 Prelude SI that's been sitting a couple of years.
I've entered the 24 Hours of LeMons race at the end of February in Houston.
I know I need to replace the transaxle and would like to replace the engine as well.
I'm currently looking for a cheap donor car which I believe needs to be an 83-87 model to make my life a little easier when swapping the eng/trans.
The plan is to swap whatever I need from the donor car and leave it stock for reliability at least for the first race.
Other than the obvious lack of time and absurdity of this project, is there anything specific to the Prelude that I should be aware of concerning weak points/reliability?
Does anyone have any knowledge of cheap donor cars that might be available in the N. Texas area and/or spare parts for the cause?

Thanks...

Stew

·
Registered
3,357 Posts
well stew, having raced 83-87 prelude on a dirt oval back in the day im sure i can answer a few questions. the weakest point in the car is the area where the floor meets the rear seat section. if you get in a good hit from front or rear it will buckle right there every time. tire size is important. too big and you lose torque, but it keeps your rpm down. two small and youll be overrevving and lose your top speed. other than that the preludes are perfect for the track. will you be running on dirt or ashphalt? road course or oval?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply Tim.
We'll be driving on asphalt road courses for the most part.
The 24 Hours of LeMons is a unique race for cars worth less than $500.00 - more info at www.24hoursoflemons.com

Stew

·
Registered
3,357 Posts