Honda Prelude Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

As I prefix all my posts (read: pleas for help), I am very new to working on my car and need quite a bit of explanation to get me along.

Anyway here's the newest symptom to diagnose: When the car is warm and put under load it will occasionally stutter really badly. It happens mostly when switching gears, though if I jam the gas hard it will happen too. The problem seems fairly intermittent though it does seem to get better when the car is still cold.

I did some searching on the forums and I've read that it might be my ICM or blocked EGR valve/ports. I found a DIY on the EGR ports (and i'm a bit intimated to be honest, but it doesn't look impossible). Is there a walkthrough for checking/cleaning the EGR valvue? Is there a good/easy way to test the ICM? Any walkthrough on it as well would be appreciated.

Also, which issue should I shoot at first? I had some problems a bit ago w/ the EGR valve - I disconnected the cable from it and forgot to plug it back up on an earlier issue. After getting the dummy light, I figured it out and hooked it back up. This is when the stuttering started happening so it seems to stand to reason the issue is there right? I have no lights on currently, but the car just isn't driving well at all once it's warm.

Any thoughts or help on this is appreciated (and forgive me if I respond with a dumb question).

Thanks!
-Ritter

Ps. '97 with ~180K, has a AEM CAI which I didn't install and know nothing about haha.

·
Registered
231 Posts
When you say stuttering... like starving for ful? or stuttering like its losing and gaining power? Spark? Air filter clean? old gas?

·
Bearderator
8,521 Posts
My vote: EGR. I always vote EGR. It's always the culprit.

Stuttering while accel: EGR
Loss of power: EGR
Funny smell in the trunk: EGR
Low tire pressure: EGR
Diabetes Type 2: EGR

:D