Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, so i bought my first prelude about 3 months ago and I have no clue how the speakers work. I'm buying new speakers soon for the fronts but I am curious about the rear ones? They are there but do they not work?

Also what's the size for the front speakers? I heard 6.5" but u gotta cut something out? Sorry i'm new to all this

& Sorry if this has been asked before but I'm just curious of why.

·
'01 Milano Red - BB615
982 Posts
hey guys, so i bought my first prelude about 3 months ago and I have no clue how the speakers work. I'm buying new speakers soon for the fronts but I am curious about the rear ones? They are there but do they not work?

Also what's the size for the front speakers? I heard 6.5" but u gotta cut something out? Sorry i'm new to all this

& Sorry if this has been asked before but I'm just curious of why.
6.5" for the front as long as you don't buy Alpine speakers. Their 6.5" speakers are more like 6.75" speakers.

If your rear speakers aren't working, check the wiring behind the deck and the wiring connections on the speakers. If all that seems fine, they may just be blown. You can also take one of those front speakers that you know works and temporarily plug it in back there. If it works, then the rear speakers are shot. If it doesn't work, check all the wiring.

·
Registered
686 Posts
6.5s work great in the front, all you need to cut is the plastic on the door card since aftermarket speakers tend to be deeper than the factory ones, after that I would recommend taking the clips off the factory speakers and soldering them onto the aftermarket ones. this makes taking the door cards on and off a lot easier...

The rear is a little bit trickier, our cars have an acoustic feedback system that doesn't really work with aftermarket speakers so use this link to help with that. its easy as long as your not color blind.