Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

Just bought a 97 5th gen Prelude and I love it—I always liked the look of these cars and now I'm happy to have one to drive when it's too cold/rainy to ride my bike.

This car is a 5 speed, has 219,000 miles and it drives smooth, looks great (for an 18 year old car) and is a lot of fun. I'm really happy with my purchase.

BUT

I'm a total automotive noob. I had a couple cars in my youth that I drove into the ground like a dumb asshole and I'd like to look after this one a little better. There's tons of great info around this forum that I've been reading and been able to answer a few little questions I have. But a few questions remain, and I was hoping that someone might be able to provide some guidance. I'm going to swallow my pride here and ask what are probably some incredibly stupid questions. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

1) Previous owner said he changed the timing belt around 120,000 miles. It seems like it's WAY overdue for a new one. I saw on an OEM parts website (parts.com) that the part itself costs about 30 bucks. I've also seen references to labor on this issue ranging as high as $800. Why so expensive? I'm ok with throwing about another grand or so at this car to get everything running smoothly, but I just want to make sure I'm not getting ripped off on account of my ignorance.

2) Am I better off taking the car to a Honda dealership, or going to independent mechanics? The carfax says it's been serviced often by a local dealership.