Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,

I am new to the prelude forums, but I have been lurking on these forums for about a year now. Any way, I have an issue with my car and I want to hear what you guys think of it. (THIS IS LONG, I KNOW)

About this time last year my brother noticed when he was driving my car occasionally (like once every few weeks/months) that the engine would randomly cut out while driving. I checked on here, apparently there was a recall on the ignition switch and they were deteriorating which causes the car to cut out while driving? Correct me if I am wrong, but I'm pretty sure that was what I read. It wasn't happening often so I left it, and it hadn't happened to me yet while driving so I didn't really care...

Any way, flash forward to November, my car started to have trouble starting. Put the key in, try turn it on, it would try and start but then cut out or take forever and finally start. Again, this didn't happen often, and would usually start straight away the second time.

Now in December I was driving and the CEL came on, pulled over, turned car off, turned it back on and it was gone. Thought nothing of it, but told my brother who use to be a mechanic apprentice and he said he would take it for a drive to see. Next day, the engine cuts out while he was driving, then the car wouldn't start straight away, on the second time trying it would turn on and the CEL came on. It did that 2 times that day.