Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1998 Honda Prelude, Auto
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
*I am new to the car scene, I have no idea what im looking at or what to do. I do understand that I could just go to a mechanic (I already have a scheduled appointment with one), but I just dont want my car to come out the other side and have no idea what is happening. I am wiling to learn how to do more advanced maintenance work myself if the job doesn't require special tools that are out of my reach. Even if I dont have the tools to fix this, I want to learn and frankly I dont know where else to go for exact help with a 98 prelude.

I need help identifying where this leak is coming from and what I can do to fix this or at least get an idea of what im looking at. I have someone who is good with these types of problems, but neither of us has the correct tools and he is way too busy to have the time to look at the issue. Why am I asking for help knowing I wont be able to fix this issue on my own? I want to learn and coming into the car community knowing nothing, I want to maintain this car for a build so I can do replacements myself and hopefully do a manual swap.

·
Administrator
6,798 Posts
There are 5 oil seals on that side of the motor, not including the valve cover gasket.

Could be as simple as the valve cover gasket, or more involved and be one of the two cam seals.

If the valve cover gasket - it's easy to do on your own. If it's cam seals, balance shaft housing or something else that requires removing the timing belt - I don't recommend it on your first go without proper tools and confidence to tackle it.