Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I want to thank everyone, that was dealing with all my dumb question this is my first build and I don't want to mess up to hard. And I'm pretty young and have little experience.
(91 2.0L)
Anyways, I need to do a head gasket and a motor mount and I was thinking instead of paying someone to do that why not just build the engine from there with the money I have for the mechanic ( i already have the parts need for the fixes.)

I eventually want to turbo the car but right now I want to so internals, like pitsons, rods, cams, ect

I really don't know what aftermarket part I can get if any are even available. Could I get a little advice on where to go with this build?

·
Registered
1990 Honda Prelude 2.0Si, 1989 Honda Prelude 2.0Si 4ws, 1990 Honda Prelude Si 4ws, etc.
817 Posts
Check the FAQs, first of all - lots of answers to questions you haven't even asked, and if you continue asking questions of the forum without searching for them first, you'll be flamed for it without a doubt. I'm a nice guy, so I'm pointing you in the right direction. ;) A common mild cam upgrade is to use the Exhaust cam from a B21A1 if you can find one. Some have also used a cam from a B18C, but it requires some machining or other workaround as it is not a direct replacement like the B21A1 cam. Pistons and rods are far more involved than you're going to get just replacing a head gasket and motor mount, but if your intention is to remove the engine for complete disassembly and rebuild, everything is on the table....but a good portion of all of that is addressed in the FAQs and Tips and How-tos sections. Lots of good info.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·