Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, today I parked my beloved Prelude 1988 at Ralph's parking lot her in San Diego and now... it won't start anymore. :wzbigcry:
Eventhough I have some electro technical background I am sooo European that I never drove cars too much, let alone know anything about them. But now that I am living here in the California I am driving & learning, so any help is welcome.

What to do? The car seems alive, headlights, sunroof, all electric parts seem to work. I could not find any blown fuses. when I try to start the engine it makes a 'click' sound once but that is all. I think the start motor is broken. What do you guys think? And if so, how hard will it be replace it myself? (I do have a machineshop at school with tons of tools and some blokes will probably give me a hand) Where would I get a new one from in the SD area?

help is welcome, thanks

ROB

·
Premium Member
444 Posts
Could be the starter...could also just be a weak battery. Its very possible to have a battery that is able to have the low Amp stuff working what seems to be fine and when you go to crank it...Nothin or not near enough there. Pull the battery and take it to a parts store to get tested (not just voltage), eliminate one by one....starting with the easiest. Also, check your ground connection and all wires associated with the battery.

·
Registered
2,344 Posts
Check the battery first.

The starter is pretty easy to replace. It is right on top of the transmission towards the front of the engine bay. It is often the engagement solenoid that goes bad. An old trick I learned was that you can bang on the solenoid with a hammer while trying to start it, and sometimes it will come unstuck. It won't permanently fix the problem, but it'll save you a tow bill and you'll know you need a new starter.

The solenoid is the smaller cylinder that is attached to the starter.

·
Registered
7,644 Posts