Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Alright, this is my first time as an O.P., but I have been reading on PP for quite a while. Just a few moments ago, my car completely lost power so let me try and describe this as best as I can. I had a hard time searching for something similar, so sorry if this has already been solved.

The story:

I had just turned a corner and was starting to accelerate around the guy in front of me.

I would say that my speed at the time of the incident was about 35 and my tach was around 4 grand, so I think I was in second gear.

All the sudden, I hear a loud "CLANK" proceed by a scraping sound. The sound was similar to if part of my exhaust had hit the ground and was dragging.

I was able to pull my car into a lot, without the use of power steering, so I assumed this incident killed the engine. I checked underneath and nothing was dragging. I looked into the engine bay, and it smelled of oil. I did notice the oil light come on right after the loud noise. When checking the oil, I noticed it right between the two dots, however, smoke was coming out of where the dipstick goes.

Some description of the car:
2000 SS Auto Prelude, Salvaged Title, 67,000 miles
Very minimal mods (intake, ebay header, cat) everything else stock, including exhaust after the cat.
I had just got the oil changed about 200 miles back.
I had hydrolocked the engine a few months back during some flooding, but was able to just dry out the filter, change spark plugs and oil and fire it up again.

I'm not very mechanically inclined so any assistance would be much appreciated. If you need more info, I'll try to answer as best as I can.

Regards,
Sad 5th Gen Owner

Edit: I didn't try starting it again in case it was something like the timing belt to avoid further damage to internals.

·
Registered
881 Posts