Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I am a tech and I know honda. I bought this lude with a blown head gasket to rebuild for my son who is starting to drive.

Pulled engine rebuilt short block pistons bearings oil pump water pump and engine seal kit. Bought rebuilt head from allied motors.

Straight edge block and the reconditioned head in spec.

Put it all together with whole bunch of new parts drove it 800 miles like a champ 500 miles break in oil now 300 with regular oil.

Today no start like no fuel. Throw every test at it. It pass is. Finally say compression test 150 on 1,2,3 100 on 4

Pull fuel supply spin engine with no plugs coolant coming out of 2 3 4

And puddling on piston.

Now as much as this is a kick in the dick my question to the masters is what failed.

New head bolts soaked in oil installed wet. 3 step tongue to spec with digital torque

Only 2 things I can think. 1. shit aftermarket gasket 2. Something cracked on block.or head.

Or 3 I did a bad job don't think that's it.

I did not send.the block to the machine shop due to 6 month wait and having a straight edge test innspec on the block.
My second question for you guys is the hard question? How do I know where the leak is once the head comes off I'm afraid I will not be able to see where it was leaking just by looking at it. He'll I examened the blown 1st head gasket and could not tell where it failed.

Since it is across 3 cylinders and 1 is 50 psi low I would say warped block but it passes on a brand new straight edge.

I plan to bore scope the cylinders tomorrow and hope I can see an entry of coolant with pressure on the radiator.

What do you guys think.

Thanks

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Ok boys Thursday night cleared the coolant left over night no plugs no pressure. Found no puddles of coolant on piston in the am.

Put pressure on radiator coolant on top of 2 3 and 4 right away.