Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a 1983 Honda Prelude 1.8L (dual carburetor). The number of hours that have been spent by so many (including three certified mechanics) to get this thing to idle on its own is immeasurable. Three times now I have seriously wanted to push this car into the river. My friend keeps saying "you've put so much time in it. You can't quit now". First off, I'm not a mechanic. I don't know much. I've taken over since the mechanics can't solve the problem. The facts: The car was stored for several (8 years) with limited intermittent driving until one day a few years ago it started to stall at stop signs. That owner (the first and original owner since 1983) had the car looked at by a mechanic who couldn't solve the problem. Hence, she sold the car. Enter me... yep, I bought it. I drained the fuel tank, changed the primary and secondary fuel filters (and air filter). I replaced the fuel pump (OEM-used) and the spark plugs (wires look good). We suspected a vacuum leak because acetylene at air intake and then propane at manifold/head had the car running smooth and solid (but rich). Next, pulled the carburetors and the intake manifold off. Four of six nuts I could pretyy much unthread with my fingers (as I struggled to be able to get at them), changed the gaskets (including EGR) and O-rings/siliconed up where appropriate and hooked up all the pre-marked vacuum lines. We're reasonably satisfied at this juncture that there are no more vacuum leaks. I've installed a brake booster vacuum switch (for some reason there wasn't one on the brake bosoter vacuum line) as well as a new ported vacuum switch that looked rough. The fuel pump as I think I mentioned was also replaced with a used OEM pump. Fuel is coming out of the fuel line. The car as I understand it calls for a pretty low 3 psi. Despite all these efforts, nothing has changed. Simply put, I have to pump the accelerator sever