Honda Prelude Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I recently bought a 00 auto base Prelude (Stock except for an AEM intake) with 70k miles on it and need to ask you pros for some advice. I tried searching but couldn't find anything that helped me.

The Problem:
The car ran fine until a couple of weeks ago when i encountered a weird "grinding like" noise coming from the front passenger side near the wheel area. The noise only appears when i am at a complete stop and start to accelerate. When im at high speeds i dont hear it. At first i thought it was an axle/wheel issue but everything looks fine So im guessing its either the intake that is making that grinding noise or worst (something is wrong with it engine wise). Is it possible for an intake to make "grinding like" noises? sorry im a complete noob =/. The wierd thing is... sometimes it doesnt make the noise at all but recently its doing it alot, usually when i accelerate. inputs/suggestions would be much appreciated. thank you =).

·
RHD Pimpin
10,152 Posts
Have your checked your brake pads or even to see if the rotors are warpped?

·
Registered
2,123 Posts
yes. i forgot to mention it also makes a slight noise when putting it from Park to Drive. The noise is really annoying.
blah if rotors warped it then you'd definitely know or not..

maybe you only hear it a low mph because its quiet, once you go faster you cant here it because its masked..it could be something dumb like a rotor shield that goes behind it would be bent and rubbing on the rotor..its easy to fix because the metal is like tin

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

maybe you only hear it a low mph because its quiet, once you go faster you cant here it because its masked..it could be something dumb like a rotor shield that goes behind it would be bent and rubbing on the rotor..its easy to fix because the metal is like tin