Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So this is my first time posting, sorry if there are any mistakes.

I have a 1999 Honda Prelude with 131,000 miles. I have replaced the idle air control valve 3 times this week. The problem starts with the cars idle jumping, usually from 1000 to 1200 or 1500 to 2000. This idle jumping soon sends me a check engine code for the IACV. Whenever I clear the check engine code the car goes back to driving like a fun enjoyable sports car with no problems. The check engine light usually goes away for 5 - 10 miles before coming back. I have replaced the part with 3 times, each time was a brand new part. If anyone knows why it's doing that or a remedy for that, please tell me.

Sincerely,
Ali

FIXED

Check your idle set screw and adjust accordingly to the diagram below, I also found another fix. Replace the MAP sensor if replacing the Idle Air Control Valve doesn’t fix it. Also check for loose grounds and vacuum leaks. BEFORE YOU BEGIN TO REPLACE PARTS, unplug the throttle position sensor, it should be on the throttle body towards the fire wall. The vehicles idle should go up, but the bouncing idle will stop, if your bouncing idle stops, you need to replace the throttle body.

-Check Idle Set Screw
-Check Idle Air Control Valve
-Check for Vacuum Leaks
-Unplug MAP sensor (on top of throttle body) (engine should drop idle if part is good)
-Unplug Throttle Position Sensor (if idle stops bouncing, replace throttle body and all sensors connected to it)

·
Registered
28 Posts
vacuum leak somewhere. check all the hoses connecting to your throttle body. Just fyi, I deleted my IACV and ive never had CEL come up. start with evaluating your vacuum lines. the idle jumping back and forth is usually caused by a leak somewhere. make sure your oil cap is sealed and your dip stick is as well.

*oh and check your coolant levels. that can cause the idle jumps as well

·
Registered
28 Posts