Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
H22 All-motor build (non-Prelude...)

June 2020 UPDATE
- Engine is back from machine shops, but the block is going back soon for more work (it's my first build; I assumed some things were basic enough to be automatic service, when they weren't). Car also needs a manual transmission conversion.

Dec. 2018 UPDATE - Went through the thread and cleaned up a lot of unnecessary junk. Trying to keep the focus on the engine build and not so much on the Accord. I joined this site for the H22 info, and feel a bit like I'm poking a stick at the focus on Preludes. The engine is something most people on here can relate to, though.

/ / / / /

The chassis is a '93 Accord EX wagon. I used to have a sedan that I had swapped a JDM H22A into, and actually later went shopping for a 4th or 5th gen Prelude to serve as a daily during this build, but somehow ended up in an RSX. The goal with this build is about 245 whp/200 lb-ft naturally aspirated, but of course I live at 5,000ft+ elevation, so we'll see what my chosen parts actually yield. Lots of delays have kept putting this on pause, but in 2020 I'm finally closing in on getting it running.

Electronics:
- Hondata S300 w/Phearable base map (to be dyno tuned, of course) still need to pick up
- AEM gauges: UEGO, EGT, oil press., fuel press.

Intake:
  • K&N Apollo intake system for 70mm pipe
  • AEM 70mm OD aluminum tubing for custom routing
  • DEI gold heat tape; so far used on oil pan, but debating wrapping the intake pipe
  • Professional Products 68mm Power throttle body for ITR, polished
  • H22 Euro-R/Type-R intake manifold prepped by Rosko Racing (68mm port match)
  • Hondata thermal intake manifold gasket
Fuel:
  • Walbro 255lph pump w/install kit
  • Rosko Racing rail
  • Acura RDX 410cc OE injectors & pigtails
  • AEM pressure regulator
Head:
  • Ishino/Stone (OEM) top-end gasket set
  • ARP head studs