Honda Prelude Forum banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am looking for a cheap way to boost a 5th gen prelude without sacrificing reliability. Specifically, i am looking for something that will cost under 1.5 grand.. Supercharger and turbocharger both are fine as to what i am looking for. i just want something that is lower in price, reliable, and adds performance to the engine.. i will be doing all of the work myself as i have experience working with cars. however, this is my first time boosting..

·
Bearderator
8,521 Posts
I think the general consensus is this:

Cheap
Reliable
Boosted

You may only pick two of the three.

That being said, there's a wealth of knowledge available here so stick around a bit and you'll get some answers.

·
Premium Member
468 Posts
Plan on spending alot more money than that if you plan on going FI, you might wanna do some searching on the forum, this topic has been covered many of times just a fyi.

·
Registered
292 Posts
There is no way you will be able to do it for less than $1500 and have your engine last more than a day unless: 1. you don't drive the car ever or 2. you steal all the parts

·
Registered
2,547 Posts
Hi, I am looking for a cheap way to boost a 5th gen prelude without sacrificing reliability. Specifically, i am looking for something that will cost under 1.5 grand.. Supercharger and turbocharger both are fine as to what i am looking for. i just want something that is lower in price, reliable, and adds performance to the engine.. i will be doing all of the work myself as i have experience working with cars. however, this is my first time boosting..
Kyleb1115 (virtually) stole his JRSC for $900. If you kept it at 6psi, your stock internals should be safe. You should pretty much never use the tuning kit that comes with the JRSC, but if you got a cheap AFR and ignition tuning piggy back, I could still see you safely boosting for under $1500.