Honda Prelude Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow oil and rust enthusiasts,

last year I picked up my own lovely 3rd gen, however the car is in rather rough shape. The main issue I want to address is oil leaking from the engine. I'm a total newbie when it comes to cars so I just took some pictures in hopes that someone knows what's going on:

Engine is a EUDM 1990 b20a3 with a 5 speed manual gearbox. Is this a death sentence? Head gasket, maybe?

Thank you all for your time and help 馃槵

Registered
I suspect it is from the distributor cap plate seal (part 15) (https://www.hondapartsnow.com/parts-list/1991-honda-prelude--2dr_2_05si_4ws-ka_4at/engine/distributor.html).

If I am right then you are in trouble because from what I have read, Honda ran out of stock of this part in 2008 and it is discontinued. I have this problem and it is an extreamily common problem on this car. The problem is fuckin annoying. You will be topping up your engine oil once a month and have a constant slow leak. You could probably make your own gasket, it all depends how much you care about it. I have had this problem for 6 years. I have never bothered fixing it but was thinking only a couple of hours ago how I have probably gone through 50 litres of oil top ups over it and I should probably fix it. :)

It will be dripping onto your heater inlet hose and cause it to degrade and eventually rupture. This happened to me last month.

It might not be this problem though, more pics would be helpful. :)

Registered
An ultraviolet dye suitable for your oil system is cheap at any parts store. Put a little in your oil, take the car to the grocery store, wait till it gets dark, shine the UV pen light that comes in a kit all over the engine, and the source of your (external) leak shows up as a nice bright green color when you wear the special goggles that come in the kit.