Guide to Locating EGR, IAC, PCV Valves - Honda Prelude Forum : Honda Prelude Forums
Home Forums Albums Garage iTrader Arcade
Register FAQ Insurance Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow Advertise

PreludePower.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 02-28-2007, 01:00 PM   #1
KManZ

KManZ will become famous soon enough
Picture Guide to Locating EGR, IAC, PCV Valves

Here is a small contribution to the site, in thanks, for all of the help and information I have gleaned these past few weeks. I am currently in the middle of my Spring Maintenance, and since this is my first time locating and cleaning these various valves and ports, I thought it would be helpful to others who are undertaking these endeavours

My gas mileage over the past 2 or 3 months has been abysmal. After a week of intense research here on PreludePower and other sources, I created a list of maintenance required to hopefully help my ailing mileage and increasingly large gas bill! In addition, I took a hint from the black soot on my bumper as a sign of running rich (thanks to those who provided me this guidance), so to remedy, I am going to be replacing my O2 sensor this weekend, and subsequently my spark plugs/ wires/ dist. cap/ rotor. After that, an oil change and valve adjustment will round out my agenda! I will take pictures throughout if I come up against something I am uncertain of, so as to help out future generations of 5th Gen Prelude owners!

So why clean these ports and valves? After time, carbon buildup can choke off these parts (mainly the EGR and IACV), leaching your engine's performance and gas mileage. The PCV Valve is a wearable item and should be regularly replaced. After taking my EGR Valve off, I found this: