Throttle Screw H22A idle setting - Honda Prelude Forum : Honda Prelude Forums
Home Forums Albums POTM Garage iTrader Arcade
Register FAQ Insurance Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

PreludePower.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2009, 03:51 PM   #1
Tengoku
True Luder
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 432
Tengoku has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Tengoku
Throttle Screw H22A idle setting

my h22a idles really low, like 300-500 and sometimes feels like its going to die when I step on the gas and then let it fall to idle. I want to set it to 700 but when I looked under the hood the screw did not have a slot for a flathead is that normal???

how would i then adjust my idle? I was thinking about getting a dremel with a cutting blade and making my own slot so I can turn it.

and what should these h22a's be running idles at?

Thanks
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

...H22a Euro R Swap Completed!...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



New Project Car !!CHECK IT OUT!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tengoku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2009, 05:09 PM   #2
motoxxxman
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern CT
Age: 32
Posts: 13,157
motoxxxman is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to motoxxxman Send a message via Yahoo to motoxxxman
it should idle at around 750.

the screw does have a slot, but they put a gob of paint over the screw from the factory so the screw cant rattle loose. get a pin or something sharp and scrape the paint off to reveal the slot.

BUT:
BEFORE TOUCHING THE IDLE SCREW!!!!!....
do a valve lash adjustment, do a full tune-up, and properly adjust the ignition timing to stock spec. i can almost guarantee you that the low idle is being caused by a problem with something, NOT from the idle screw needing to be adjusted. if you adjust the idle screw to get it to idle at a normal rpm, you are just covering up a different problem, and probably causing more damage to something.
the idle screw is the LAST thing you want to adjust the get it to idle right, because 99% of the time the screw is set exactly how it should be, and something else needs tweaking or replacement.
motoxxxman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 05:32 PM   #3
Tengoku
True Luder
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 432
Tengoku has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Tengoku
great advice! Thanks

is the slot top or bottom of the screw?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

...H22a Euro R Swap Completed!...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



New Project Car !!CHECK IT OUT!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tengoku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 05:52 PM   #4
Blue01
Prelude Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cold
Posts: 6,037
Blue01 is a jewel in the roughBlue01 is a jewel in the roughBlue01 is a jewel in the rough
You have a Euro-R throttle body?
__________________
2001 Base 5MT - Accord swap
2003 FE4/FRC 6MT - Stock, tow vehicle
Blue01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 06:35 PM   #5
Tengoku
True Luder
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 432
Tengoku has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Tengoku
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue01 View Post
You have a Euro-R throttle body?
Yeah I think so, if euro r throttle bodies came with the euro r h22. I cant tell by looking at the throttle body but I think its safe to assume.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

...H22a Euro R Swap Completed!...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



New Project Car !!CHECK IT OUT!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tengoku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 06:38 PM   #6
Blue01
Prelude Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cold
Posts: 6,037
Blue01 is a jewel in the roughBlue01 is a jewel in the roughBlue01 is a jewel in the rough
If it was bolted to the engine it probably is.

I don't believe it has a throttle screw. Also no FITV.

What ECU are you running the motor on?
__________________
2001 Base 5MT - Accord swap
2003 FE4/FRC 6MT - Stock, tow vehicle
Blue01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 06:46 PM   #7
ill-icit_lude
Ludacious
 
ill-icit_lude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,302
ill-icit_lude will become famous soon enough
That's pretty odd that were having the same exact problem, I thought R crew would have worked that all out I don't feel as bad anymore. I swapped to obd1 injectors and my idle came back up but im still having idle issues, and stabilizing issues
ill-icit_lude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 07:37 PM   #8
motoxxxman
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern CT
Age: 32
Posts: 13,157
motoxxxman is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to motoxxxman Send a message via Yahoo to motoxxxman
wait, are you using obd2 injectors with a resistor box?
motoxxxman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 08:23 PM   #9
ill-icit_lude
Ludacious
 
ill-icit_lude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,302
ill-icit_lude will become famous soon enough
I'd think that R crew got that right. My idle is still shitty at times it will start to idle fine and then when I drive it it goes back to the same old shitty idle but I think that may due to what we talked about steve
ill-icit_lude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 09:50 PM   #10
Tengoku
True Luder
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 432
Tengoku has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Tengoku
It doesnt really have any idling problems, just idles low.. other than that its driving fine so far.

... I was however having some bogging/jerking problems recently, but its fine now... i dont know if it will come back.. havent had much time diagnose the problem...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

...H22a Euro R Swap Completed!...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



New Project Car !!CHECK IT OUT!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tengoku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 11:12 PM   #11
Tengoku
True Luder
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 432
Tengoku has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Tengoku
I was wondering if this would work... putting a nut on the throttle screw to make it idle a bit higher.







I need to find a thinner as this nut makes it idle a lot higher than I want.

Check out the video, it doesnt idle too bad but when its at around 500 the car vibrates more than I would want it to.. when i throttle the rpm to 750 the vibrations are a lot less....



__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

...H22a Euro R Swap Completed!...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



New Project Car !!CHECK IT OUT!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Tengoku; 10-28-2009 at 11:21 PM.
Tengoku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2009, 11:34 PM   #12
ill-icit_lude
Ludacious
 
ill-icit_lude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,302
ill-icit_lude will become famous soon enough
How are you running an obd2 map? is the whole car running obd2?
ill-icit_lude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2009, 07:45 AM   #13
Tengoku
True Luder
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 432
Tengoku has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Tengoku
Quote:
Originally Posted by ill-icit_lude View Post
How are you running an obd2 map? is the whole car running obd2?
Car is running OBD1
BlackBerry9530/5.0.0.328 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105
Tengoku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2009, 10:08 AM   #14
Blue01
Prelude Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cold
Posts: 6,037
Blue01 is a jewel in the roughBlue01 is a jewel in the roughBlue01 is a jewel in the rough
On what ECU?

Your stray vac line might be for the air injection thingy on that engine...maybe.
__________________
2001 Base 5MT - Accord swap
2003 FE4/FRC 6MT - Stock, tow vehicle
Blue01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2009, 10:41 AM   #15
team123luder
Elite Member
 
team123luder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Age: 22
Posts: 16,906
team123luder has a spectacular aura aboutteam123luder has a spectacular aura aboutteam123luder has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to team123luder Send a message via MSN to team123luder

Prelude of the Month

Air injection thingy? Blasphemy coming from blue
__________________
SOLD!!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
team123luder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2009, 01:04 AM   #16
Tengoku
True Luder
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davis, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 432
Tengoku has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to Tengoku
I placed a springy type mechanism on the screw that holds the throttle in place on the TB which raises the rpm +150-200 ... its working out great! my idle is at 700 rpm and has less vibrations. Still have to test it out more with more driving....
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

...H22a Euro R Swap Completed!...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



New Project Car !!CHECK IT OUT!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tengoku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Prelude Forum : Honda Prelude Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright 2002 - 2011, Preludepower.com
PreludePower Forums