Honda Prelude Forum banner

sweet P/S line reroute how-to (56k frendly)

13K views 57 replies 20 participants last post by  luzer 
#1 · (Edited)
this is a kinda small image, but it works with the 56k world pretty good.

http://www.barney3d.com/cadster/rides/lude/how to/powersteering/HOW2-SMALL.jpg
you can also download the larger version of the above image here -
http://www.barney3d.com/cadster/rides/lude/how to/powersteering/HOW2.jpg
this image is much larger (so its at least twice the file size)

these are the base pics i took with the camera. may help, may not-
linky (2.2 meg zip file)

what started as a heatshield install and vacuum hose reroute (small upper left pic with the yellow dot : notice my vacuum lines are now going under the intake manni) has turned into a P/S line reroute.. it was just too simple to not share with you guys ...

i have seen several reroutes where the line is routed like a 4th or 5th gen. i studied our line and believe this is a better way. what you are doing is this : your taking the P/S line and flipping it. instead of the line coming off the pump and going around the car engine, its now comming off the pump and going around the front left corner of the engine bay to the rack. its not in your way when your at the front of the engine and it cost zero bucks.

but be warned.. the P/S line is very unforgiving. dont take bending this line lightly, it will split open or crease if not done right. This was done with a car quest P/S line, not a honda OEM power steering line.

i cant stress enough that when you go to bend the line.. BEND IT ONLY A DEGREE OR TWO AT A TIME !!!!!!!!
give the metal time to settle before you go bending it more !!!!

this was also a new line purchased from car-quest. its about 4 months old. cant say if a 17+ year old line will/would act the same.

look it over, read, study, ask questions.

ill explain more if you need it.... maybe ;)