Power window mod. -Wiring info - Honda Prelude Forum : Honda Prelude Forums
Home Forums Albums POTM Garage iTrader Arcade
Register FAQ Insurance Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

PreludePower.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2003, 05:35 PM   #1
Hondamatik
Lude Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 141
Hondamatik has disabled reputation
Power window mod. -Wiring info

Hey what's up. I just got a 91 si, with manual windows and wanted to convert to power ASAP. I tried doing a search and there was nothing that contained actual wiring information. Well I went out and bought the switches, window regulators/motors, and wiring (cut). I just wanted to get as much info about this as possible. I mainly need the function for the colored wires.>>

For the Passenger side, there are three wires: Blue solid, blue w/yellow stripe, and blue with black stripe.

The driver's has 5: White w/ yellow stripe, black, and then the same 3 other wires as the passenger's :Blue solid, blue w/yellow stripe, and blue with black stripe.

I didn't get any relays, and I just wanted to wire them to a fuse or something. How would I go about doing this? I was also pondering on where I would put the switches. The switch assembly (on the door panel w/the a/c vent)is different than the manual. Please reply with any info regarding installation of Power windows.
Thanks,
James
www.geocities.com/hondamatik/91
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hondamatik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2003, 06:11 PM   #2
KO_SI
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: ARIZONA!
Posts: 1,595
KO_SI has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to KO_SI Send a message via MSN to KO_SI
talk to b20luda he did his, and he put the switches by the center console by the e-brake
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
KO_SI is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2003, 08:12 AM   #3
Hondamatik
Lude Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 141
Hondamatik has disabled reputation
Cool...I emailed B20luda. He didn't remember the wiring info though. He's gonna get back to me on Sunday about it though.

Today I noticed that the 3 wires from the passenger side are exactly like 3 of the driver's side wires. I'm thinking that these 3 wires connect with the driver's side, which contains the power wires. The other 2 wires on the driver's side are 1black and 1white. >>>

Black-Ground
White-ignition

Does this sound right? Please let me know what you all think.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hondamatik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2003, 09:47 AM   #4
Jump
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon, OU812
Posts: 7,007
Jump is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jump
Did you go to a wrecking yard for your parts?
Jump is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2003, 01:40 PM   #5
Kbulls91Lude
Ludacious
 
Kbulls91Lude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Wilmington, NC
Age: 48
Posts: 1,401
Kbulls91Lude is on a distinguished road
The extra 2 wires on the drivers side have to do with the AUTO-DOWN feature of the drivers window. That switch has to receive a pulse from the motor when it gets to the bottom. I wanted to mod the passenger window to do that too. Not sure if the motors are the same. Maybe you can help ME. Are the motors identical or mirror images of eachother? I mean would a drivers motor replace a passengers side motor to accomplish the AUTO-DOWN on that side? I've already picked up a switch assembly. I would just need to make the fatter switch fit the smaller opening & run 2 wires to the passenger door.
__________________
91 Si Cobalt Blue wrecked, stripped, retired w/ 145k mi in 2006
90 Si4WS Phoenix Red rusty quarters no clearcoat left currently 206K mi
91 Si Phoenix Red NO RUST, hole in B21A1 just acquired 2/12 w/ 162k mi
SWAP COMPLETE, but lost interest in 2WS to 4WS swap from 90
-->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kbulls91Lude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2003, 03:06 AM   #6
Hondamatik
Lude Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 141
Hondamatik has disabled reputation
Yah I got my parts at a yard. About the motors...Yah it looks like they would be switchable, but it would be the opposite direction. -Auto up instead of auto down. -maybe reverse the wires/polarity?
Thanks for the info about the auto down wires, I just need to know what the 3 blue wires do!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hondamatik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2003, 09:29 AM   #7
Jump
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon, OU812
Posts: 7,007
Jump is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jump
I'm going to throw out some thoughts - so take these with a grain of salt.

So what we are assuming is that the motor itself is what contains the Pulser circuit, yeah?
It looks like the wiring, however, enters into the gear box itself - one having the 4 wires the other 2. So I'm guessing that you'd have to rewire or swap out wiring from a driver side to modify the pass side.

The drivers side wiring (at the dual switch) shows up as :
1= BLK ground
2WHT/YEL and BLU/BLK Ignition ON
3= RED/BLU and RED/YEL Driver side motor
4= BLU/YELO and BLU/GRN Pass side motor
5= BLU and BLK for the Pulser (AUTO) circuit


At the motor on the Driver side they show the plug pins as:

(Looking at plug and key on top - top is pin 1-2 bottom 3-4)

Motor Pins 1-2
pulser circuit pins 3-4 (4 being same as ground or to ground)

But they don't show color in the Helms - should I look in the Honda Wiring Book? (yeah I was stupid enough to buy the complete set)

-Jump

Edit: If we get this figured out - could we get a write up centered from everyone to place on the How-To and Mod site we are planning?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jump is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2003, 12:54 PM   #8
Hondamatik
Lude Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 141
Hondamatik has disabled reputation
hey jump, thanks for the info. It looks like the black and white are what I thought they were for. Yah, try to check whatever manuals you guys have. I will definetely do a write up if I ever do finish this!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hondamatik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2003, 01:03 PM   #9
Jump
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon, OU812
Posts: 7,007
Jump is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jump
Yeah, but even with that info, I don't see how you can run the driver side motor on over on the pass side - perhaps I'm just not putting out the effort - would be pretty trick to have that option on the pass side - my daughter is always going "that's dumb that they don't do that over here on My side." LOL

I'll check the Honda wiring to see what the colors and stuff are for the pass side - hell, if I can get my wife to scan the page and post it, that'd be even better.
Jump is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2003, 01:08 PM   #10
XtremeluderSI
Unactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: bethesda, md
Posts: 1,142
XtremeluderSI is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to XtremeluderSI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump
hell, if I can get my wife to scan the page and post it, that'd be even better.
hey jump, no need for that. here is all the power window information that you could possibly want straight out of the shop manual!

http://www.honda.co.uk/owner/Prelude...100/16-183.pdf
XtremeluderSI is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2003, 01:26 PM   #11
Jump
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon, OU812
Posts: 7,007
Jump is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jump
That's straight out of the Helms - must be a different manual than the 91 because of the page numbers being different but yeah? But they don't (Helms) give additional wire color for the pass like the actual Electrical Troubleshooting Manual - hell the manual for the 91 alone is about an inch thick!
Good find though - glad someone (eagle-eyed) found that location - I think NTPOG has quite a few scans of the Helms also - I'll ask Todd for the URL's..........
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jump is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2003, 01:27 PM   #12
XtremeluderSI
Unactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: bethesda, md
Posts: 1,142
XtremeluderSI is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to XtremeluderSI
actually that is out of the online shop manual from Honda of UK website. it is basically the whole helms online. here is the link:

http://www.honda.co.uk/owner/PreludeManual

that is for the 88 lude. they also have a link on there for the 89 and 90, if that's your thing. go ahead and check it out.
XtremeluderSI is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2003, 01:38 PM   #13
Jump
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon, OU812
Posts: 7,007
Jump is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jump
Damn boss, that ought ta be STICKIED!!!!
Jump is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2003, 08:26 PM   #14
Hondamatik
Lude Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 141
Hondamatik has disabled reputation
Ok, well still haven't finished the power window mod. I've been asking everyone out there, and no one can remember the wiring info.

Well I found a page in some shop manual, that breaks it down for the 91 lude.

(driver's side wiring)
1.Black: Ground
2.Wht/yel stripe: Driver's window fuse (20a)
3.Blu/blk stripe: Passenger's window fuse (20a) (splice the matching Passenger wire with the driver's)

The power window control unit is built into the driver's switch(not a separate unit, like the 88-89 has). The three wires from the passenger side (blu/blk, blu/yel/ blu/grn) connect straight to the driver's switch.

That sums it all up.

My interior fuse box has fuses for the driver+passenger power windows. (I think #'s 5+6) I'm trying to figure what color wires in the fuse box are for these fuses, so I can splice the right wires to this. -can anyone check this???

And my last step is looking for the best spot to put the actual switches in. I'll keep you all updated, as things happen...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hondamatik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2003, 03:01 AM   #15
Jump
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon, OU812
Posts: 7,007
Jump is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jump
I thought I had responded to this - but first off, what do you mean the pulser is in the Driver side switch? Where did you find that out.
I have the Honda Troubleshooting Wiring Manual for the 1991, should I bother looking up all the wiring details - the Honda Manual (which we all call the Helms - but in reproduction only) only shows a little info which I already posted somewhere.

want to PM or something so we can get this thing nailed and written up? Also, what do you mean by mounting the switches somewhere - what's wrong with where they are now?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jump is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2003, 04:24 AM   #16
Hondamatik
Lude Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 141
Hondamatik has disabled reputation
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump
I thought I had responded to this - but first off, what do you mean the pulser is in the Driver side switch? Where did you find that out.
I have the Honda Troubleshooting Wiring Manual for the 1991, should I bother looking up all the wiring details - the Honda Manual (which we all call the Helms - but in reproduction only) only shows a little info which I already posted somewhere.

want to PM or something so we can get this thing nailed and written up? Also, what do you mean by mounting the switches somewhere - what's wrong with where they are now?
I said>>>"The power window control unit is built into the driver's switch"<<< -and I didn't write anything about the pulser anywhere. This page: http://www.honda.co.uk/owner/Prelude...100/16-183.pdf shows that the 88 had a separate control unit.

About the switches... the interior door panels w/manual windows are different from the panels w/power. -The switches/air vents are a different shape. I am looking to put them in the same spot, it is just going to need some cutting/sanding/glueing.

Let me know if there is anything else you need me to clear up.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hondamatik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2003, 04:39 AM   #17
Jump
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon, OU812
Posts: 7,007
Jump is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jump
Sorry, didn't realize you had manuals on the door - I've been looking at changing over the pass side to auto down on my 91 so it's still in line with what you are doing.

By the way - I see that the 88-89 had the separate power control unit on that page - the manual I have for the 91 doesn't show it as a separate unit so I assumed you were goig for hte setup for the 91. And yeah, besides the pulser being in the drivers motor - there is a control unit at the switch wwhich I assume must be wired into the pass circuit or taken off another lude or something.

I wasn't trying to be hostile on my thread input if it came acroos that way - I'm sorry
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jump is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2003, 12:54 PM   #18
Hondamatik
Lude Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 141
Hondamatik has disabled reputation
-It's all good man....I just want to get this thing done. If I finally get all the wiring and ish finished, I'll probably do the pass. auto down as well. And I will definitely do a write up on all of this.

Is there anyone willing to take their interior fuse box apart(or one from a junk yard), and find which wires go to fuses 5 + 6(20a power windows)???

Paul...is there anything in your manual about these fuses+wiring?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hondamatik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2003, 11:42 PM   #19
Jump
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon, OU812
Posts: 7,007
Jump is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jump
In the 91 manual they list the underdash fuses 5 as Pass window power switch and 6 as the drivers power switch. Both are listed as 15 amp.

The entire schematic diagram is displayed but the heading is Power Windows: 2.1 Si, ABS, 4WS - Is this the one you need?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jump is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2003, 03:05 PM   #20
Hondamatik
Lude Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 141
Hondamatik has disabled reputation
Yah....jump, that sounds right. If you could scan that diagram for me that would be cool of you. I didn't get the stock wiring harness w/power features. I just need to know which wires are for the 5+6 fuses so I can splice into them.

My manual shows 20a fuses which I thought were kinda high. I think it's listed as 10a in my fuse box.

So yah, if you could scan that page for me, you'd be a cool guy.

thanks
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hondamatik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2003, 03:37 PM   #21
Jump
Preludepower Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oregon, OU812
Posts: 7,007
Jump is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jump
The Honda Manual lists those fuses at 15 amp but the Honda Wiring shows them as 20 amp. I also just checked my car adn the fuses are 20 amp installed.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jump is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2003, 02:23 AM   #22
Hondamatik
Lude Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 141
Hondamatik has disabled reputation
Ok, well some good news. -My car now has power windows. I did all of the installs+wiring today. I put the switches in the same spot, just had to cut a few things. I'm happy that everything worked out perfectly. -Except for one thing, the passenger side window rolls (up+down) slow as hell!!!! It did look a bit gunky, but I cleaned it as much as possible before putting it on. What else can I do? -maybe the motor's going bad? Any tips would be helpful. -I'll post pics of the install soon. Laters.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hondamatik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2003, 01:01 PM   #23
XtremeluderSI
Unactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: bethesda, md
Posts: 1,142
XtremeluderSI is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to XtremeluderSI
yea man my pass. side window is pretty slow too, i hadn't used it for a long time but it was nice out this weekend so i used it and it took like 15 seconds to go all the way down.. most likely it's just the motor being so old. also, were you able to use the auto-down feature on the pass. side window? i read the above posts a long time ago and don't remember all the details, but it seems to me that all you would need is another switch from the driver side that has the auto-down click feature to it, and a driver side motor (pass. side motor doesn't have the pulser that makes the auto-down feature).. does anyone know if the driver side motor is interchangeable with the pass side? i'd re-read the posts again but i have to run to class!
XtremeluderSI is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2005, 09:07 PM   #24
LudaPower
* * * * * *
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,919
LudaPower is a jewel in the roughLudaPower is a jewel in the roughLudaPower is a jewel in the rough

I need some quick info. Being I have manual windows.. does the Power window Motor just swap in? I mean.. do I use the same saw like looking things that forces the window up n down on my manual crank windows.. onto the motors? Online manual doesn't talk about that part.
Or do I need the whole shiskabob like in this picture

Hope junkyard doesn't charge too much for it.
LudaPower is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2005, 10:07 PM   #25
LudaPower
* * * * * *
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,919
LudaPower is a jewel in the roughLudaPower is a jewel in the roughLudaPower is a jewel in the rough

Umm.. bump before i go to bed.. i need to know this by tomorrow morning!
LudaPower is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Prelude Forum : Honda Prelude Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright 2002 - 2011, Preludepower.com
PreludePower Forums