No.1 cylinder position sensor - Honda Prelude Forum : Honda Prelude Forums
Home Forums Albums POTM Garage iTrader Arcade
Register FAQ Insurance Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

PreludePower.com is the premier Honda Prelude Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2016, 05:12 PM   #1
Prototype
Getting Comfortable
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Peoria, AZ
Age: 23
Posts: 63
Prototype is on a distinguished road
No.1 cylinder position sensor

Mines toast. Replaced it, and the new one is bad too. Is there any replacements out there? Fixes for this problem? I need my car to right for my job. Delivery driver. Been searching and searching. Any help is appreciated. Sorry if this is in the wrong area.
Prototype is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2016, 04:00 PM   #2
cmccrac1
Getting Comfortable
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 64
cmccrac1 is on a distinguished road
Did you ever find out anything? I am throwing CEL # 9, took apart the old one and cleaned everything really well, sanded the contacts and applied dielectric grease, reassembled and no luck. That same procedure made my TDC position sensor work like new. Will your car run at all? CEL codes?
cmccrac1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2016, 04:35 PM   #3
cudaboy
Elite Member
 
cudaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: 340, 'Cudaville
Posts: 4,294,967,295
cudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internetcudaboy is the King of the Internet
Send a message via Yahoo to cudaboy

Did it have oil in inside it? There is a write-up in the tutorial section top of 3rd gen section on replacing the internal seal. It is the same part number as the distributor seal sold aftermarket only. Also I have seen the wiring at the cover area go bad.
__________________
CUDABOY'S STRUT TOWER BAR GROUP BUY: I HAVE 1 FRONT OF BLACK ON BLACK W/SILVER BAR FRONT $150/SH +3 SETS F/R U CHOOSE COLOR MINI G.B. $265 SH.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


'91 Si 4ws 5spd(black) "Black Betty"
'70 'Cuda 340 C.I.D. Alpine White, Black Vynil Top, Leather Interior, Rim Blow, Overhead Consolette. Factory Posi 3.55:1, 15" ralleyes, --Fully Loaded and Extremely Rare!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cudaboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2017, 11:59 AM   #4
cmccrac1
Getting Comfortable
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 64
cmccrac1 is on a distinguished road
No oil inside the sensor, the wiring is exposed a bit at the cover...definitely could be better. Perhaps this is giving low voltage readings at the ecu. Keep you posted, thanks for the reply as always!
cmccrac1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2017, 02:49 PM   #5
cmccrac1
Getting Comfortable
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 64
cmccrac1 is on a distinguished road
I just finished rebuilding my A7...success!! But, when taking it down the street for a test drive I noticed that it was almost out of gas so I busted a quick u-turn just as it started to sputter on me. I was able to ilde-coast back home and it never died, it just fluttered when giving gas. Now, before the rebuild I was throwing the #9 CEL for the No.1 Cylinder Sensor, so when finishing up I put a third sensor on, still throwing the light, so I'm thinking there is an issue in the wiring somewhere. Any thoughts on how to troubleshoot the wiring for this sensor and is it possible for this issue to cause the car to run in "limp mode"? Thanks a million, so close to getting the Lude back!
cmccrac1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2017, 04:15 PM   #6
luzer
Elite Member
 
luzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eastern WA
Age: 54
Posts: 8,777
luzer has a spectacular aura aboutluzer has a spectacular aura aboutluzer has a spectacular aura about

Follow the troubleshooting chart for the cyl sensor (No 1 cylinder position sensor). Here's a link to the online service manual...
http://media.honda.co.uk/car/owner/m...f100/6-160.pdf
__________________
1991 Prelude Si 4ws
2015 Ram 1500 EcoDiesel 4x4
luzer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2017, 07:11 PM   #7
cmccrac1
Getting Comfortable
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 64
cmccrac1 is on a distinguished road
Thank you very much for the link. Could a sufficiently shit sensor or problem therein cause the car to run in such a manner?
cmccrac1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2017, 07:32 PM   #8
88SE Lude
Prelude Aficionado
 
88SE Lude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rust country, Minnisooda.
Posts: 10,712
88SE Lude has much to be proud of88SE Lude has much to be proud of88SE Lude has much to be proud of88SE Lude has much to be proud of88SE Lude has much to be proud of88SE Lude has much to be proud of88SE Lude has much to be proud of88SE Lude has much to be proud of
Do we assume you put some fuel in it then tried it again?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"You are not entitled to an opinion. An opinion is what you have when you don't have any facts. When you have the facts, you don't need an opinion"

MustardCat - "You have free access to people with decades worth of experience here. Being asked to format your posts in a readable manner is very reasonable. Call your local Honda dealer and see how much they want per hour to have a master tech diagnose your problem..."
88SE Lude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Prelude Forum : Honda Prelude Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Security Question
Type the last 3 characters on the Prelude license plate displayed at the top left of the page: FSV _ _ _
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011, Preludepower.com
PreludePower Forums